Our Doctors

Endocrinology Doctors

Award Winning Physicians

Cynthia A. Burns, MD  
Kristen G. Hairston, MD, MPH  
Kavya Mekala, MD
K. Patrick Ober,  MD
Joseph A. Aloi, MD​
Brittany B. Henderson, MD

The Faculty within the Section on Endocrinology and Metabolism have won significant awards in many arenas:


 Cynthia Burns, MD

  • Brooks Scholars in Academic Medicine Award

John R. Crouse, III, MD, Professor Emeritus  

  • Past recipient of the Preventive Cardiology Academic Award from NHLBI and director of the Wake Forest University Preventive Cardiology Program.

K. Patrick Ober, MD

During his career at Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center, Dr. Ober  students have recognized Dr. Ober’s commitment to excellence by selecting him for eight major teaching awards.  Other recent awards include:

  • WFU School of Medicine Medical Alumni Association Distinguished Faculty Service Award
  • Best Doctors in North Carolina Recognition
  • Best Doctors in America Recognition

Kavya Mekala, MD

  • Dean's Citation for Excellence in Teaching 2006-2007, from Tufts University School of Medicine

Kristen Gill Hairston, MD

  • Women's Health Center of Excellence Clinical Faculty Research Award, 2012
  • Master Teacher Award (for faculty demonstrating excellence in and commitment to teaching) 2013


Quick Reference

Endocrinology and Metabolism

Health On-Call
Appointments 336-713-7251

8am to 5pm, Monday through Friday
Find a Doctor Ways to Give
Last Updated: 09-29-2015
USNWR 2015-2016Magnet Hospital RecognitionConsumer Choice2014 Best DoctorsJoint Commission Report

Disclaimer: The information on this website is for general informational purposes only and SHOULD NOT be relied upon as a substitute for sound professional medical advice, evaluation or care from your physician or other qualified health care provider.