For specific inquiries regarding research fellowships, technical lab positions, and studentships please contact directly Dr. James Eisenach at or by phone at 336-716-4182.  Alternatively, for specific projects which interest you, please click on the faculty in charge.

Positions Available:

  • Senior Post-doctoral Fellow/Research Associate Position
    The job description for this current position is on the All Staff Opportunities page.  Enter job code 17495 in the Search box. 
  • Postdoctoral Research Fellowships
  • Lab Technician
  • Graduate Studentship
  • Undergraduate Projects

Graduate, Medical Students and Postdoctoral Fellows Trained

1987-1989 Mario Castro, PhD 
1988 Scott Brandt, MD 
1989 David Limauro, MD
1989-1991 Chuanyao Tong, MD  
1990-1991  Brenda Bucklin MD 
1991 Julie Williams, MD
1991-1992 Dawn Detweiler, MD
1991-1992 Young Yoon, MD 
1992 Anand Lothe, MD
1992-1994 Carswell Jackson, MD 
1992-1993 Ping Li, MD 
1993 Cameron Hewitt, MD
1993-1994 Herve Bouaziz, MD
1994 Walter Klimscha, MD 
1995 Gyongyi Horvath, MD 
1996 George Rose, MD 
1996 Sergio Cerda, MD 
1996 Robert Leinbach, MD 
1996-1997 Ho-Kyung Song, MD
1996-2000 Hui-Lin Pan, PhD
1997-1998 Astrid Chiari, MD 
1997-1998 Patricia Lavand’homme, MD
1998 Josenilia Gomes, MD
1998-1999 Edward Cheng, MD
1998-1999 Xavier Paqueron, MD 
1998-2000 Xinhui Li, PhD
1999 Stephanie Fidner
1999 Neal Dongre
1999-2000 Zihong Zhao, PhD
1999-2000 Andreas Sandner-Liesling, MD 
1999-2002 Carsten Bantel, MD
2000-2002 Frederic Duflo, MD
2000-2002  Michelle Vincler, PhD
2000-2005 Xiaoying Zhu, PhD, WFUSM Outstanding Doctoral Student 
2001-2002 Carlo Pancaro, MD 
2001-2002 Sang-Wook Shu, MD
2001-2002 Yoo-Jin Kang, MD 
2001-2003 Carine Dalle, PhD
2002-2004 Yong Zhang, PhD
2002-2004 Hideaki Obata, MD
2003 Corbin Meachum (Undergraduate)
2003 Emily Brown (Undergraduate)
2003-2005 Alfonso Romero, PhD
2004-2006 Baogang Liu, PhD 
2004-2006 Ken-ichiro Hayashida, DVM, PhD
2004-2008 Douglas Ririe, MD
2006-2008 Russell Schwarte, PhD
2006-2008 Samuel Franklin, PhD
2008-2011 Christopher Peters, PhD
2009-2011 Mario Danilo Boada, PhD 
2010-2012 Silvia Gutierrez, PhD
2010-2012 Shotaro Hobo, MD
2011-2012 Marcia Redua, DVM, PhD
2011-Present Amie Severino (Graduate Student)
2012-2014  Takashi Suto, MD, PhD 
2012-2014  Steven Lombardo, MS (Fulbright Fellow) 
2014-2015  Michael Henry Harris, MD 
2014-2015  Carlos Eduardo Morado Urbina
2014-2016  Masafumi Kimura, MD, PhD
2014-Present Vipin Arora, PhD 

 Sabbatical Visitors Trained

2000    Patricia Lavand’homme, M.D., Universite Catholique de Louvain
2002   Phil Malan, M.D., University of Arizona
2007   Sibel Gurun, M.D. (Fulbright Fellow), University of Bursa, Turkey 




Quick Reference

Pain Research

Dr. James Eisenach

Find A Doctor Ways to Give


News and Events

The American Society of Anesthesiologists honored James C. Eisenach, M.D., with the 2013 Excellence in Research Award.

Last Updated: 06-06-2016
Five Wake Forest Baptist Specialties Earn U.S. News RankingsComprehensive Cancer Centers National Designation is RenewedMagnet Hospital Recognition2015 Best DoctorsJoint Commission Report

Disclaimer: The information on this website is for general informational purposes only and SHOULD NOT be relied upon as a substitute for sound professional medical advice, evaluation or care from your physician or other qualified health care provider.

© Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center, Medical Center Boulevard, Winston-Salem, NC 27157. All Rights Reserved.