News & Recognitions


Nancy Pirro (20 years) and Sarah Smith (30 years) received Service Awards for their contribution to the Wake Forest Health Sciences over the many years!

Several members of the Hypertension Center presented their work at the AHA High Blood Pressure Research Scientific Sessions Meeting in September of 2015. There were 12 abstracts presented with 3 oral presentations by Bryan Wilson, Dr. Hossam Shaltout, and Dr. Liliya M. Yamaleyeva; 4 abstracts were selected to be presented at the AHA Scientific Sessions in November.

Mark Chappell, PhD has been invited to the Gordon Research Conference Angiotensin 2016 Conference in Tuscany, Italy in February 2016.  The title of his presentation is “Evidence for an Intracellular Angiotensin-(1-7) Axis”.

Mark Chappell, PhD has been invited to the National AHA meeting in Orlando FL.  He will be presenting “Fetal Origins of Adult Cardiovascular Disease (Control#: 10309) in a Cardiovascular Seminar entitled Early Childhood Influences on Adult Cardiovascular Disease: Can We Intervene Successfully?” He will also present “Update on Angiotensin Converting Enzyme 2-angiotensin (1-7)-MAS receptor axis: fetal programming, sex differences and intracellular pathways (Control#: 1644) in a Hybrid entitled Sex Differences in Hypertension”.

Drs.Patricia Gallagher and Ann Tallant were featured in the September edition of Winston-Salem Magazine, along with some other investigators who work with Wake Forest Innovations.  The article is focused on thier studies on angiotensin-(1-7) and stroke prevention in women.  Please follow the link to view the full article:

The Hypertension Core Laboratory has changed names as well as moved its location.  Now called The Biomarker Analytical Core, the new address is Biotech Place:  575 N. Patterson Avenue, Suite 134 Winston Salem, NC 27101.  You may reach the lab by phone at 336-716-3553 or by fax at 336-716-2295

The annual Tanglewood Heart and Stroke Walk was held Saturday, October 17th at Tanglewood Park.  This year the amount raised for the American Heart Association has totaled $459, 475 and still counting.  Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center has raised $62,256 to date, with the Hypertension and Tallant Girl Scout Teams raising $2,707 to date. GREAT JOB!!!!!!!!  


Dr. David Soto-Pantoja received NIH/NCI K22 grant September 1 titled, “Therapeutic targeting of CD47 regulates tumor cell bioenergetics and mitophagy”. The objectives of this work is to find novel mechanisms to reduce tumor growth, overcome the development of resistance to chemotherapy and reduce metastasis of breast cancer which is responsible for over 40,000 deaths every year in the U.S. Also many chemotherapeutic agents have harmful side effects particularly in the cardiovascular system. Novel pathways that can be used as targets to overcome cardiotoxicity and protect vascular tissue while simultaneously sensitizing the tumor to chemotherapy will be studied in this project.

Dr. Liliya M. Yamaleyeva received an R21 grant titled: “Longitudinal assessments of placental oxygenation and perfusion using ultrasound and photoacoustics” by NICHD. This proof of concept study will provide a validation of photoacoustic imaging for the assessments of placental oxygenation/hypoxia during pregnancy and will offer an avenue for future clinical application of this technology. A multidisciplinary team includes: Dr. Aaron Mohs, an Assistant Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences at the University of Nebraska Medical Center, Dr. Yao Sun, a Research Associate at the Department of Radiology of WFSM. Professors K. Bridget Brosnihan, (General Surgery/Hypertension), Jim Rose, and Robert Taylor, (Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology) of WFSM will serve as an Internal Advisors on this project.  For more information on the Human Placental Project that funded this research, please go to: NIH invests $46 million in technologies to monitor placental health


Quick Reference

Hypertension and Vascular Research Center

Phone: 336-716-5819
FAX: 336-716-2456
Clinic Appointments:
Hemodynamic Diagnostic Lab Scheduling

Hypertension & Vascular Research Center
Wake Forest School of Medicine, 6 Hanes
Medical Center Boulevard, Winston-Salem, NC
Find A Doctor Ways to Give


HVRC Spotlight on News

HVRC Spotlight on News

The Hypertension & Vascular Research Center will be renewed as an institutionally recognized Center for a 3 year term.

Last Updated: 12-14-2015
USNWR 2015-2016Magnet Hospital RecognitionConsumer Choice2015 Best DoctorsJoint Commission Report

Disclaimer: The information on this website is for general informational purposes only and SHOULD NOT be relied upon as a substitute for sound professional medical advice, evaluation or care from your physician or other qualified health care provider.