Faculty & Staff

Primary Faculty

Martha Alexander-Miller, PhD
Interim Chair
Vaccine development and adaptive immune regulation following coinfection
Alexander-Miller Laboratory

Erik S. Barton, PhD
Immunity during lifelong herpesvirus infection
Barton Laboratory

Rajendar Deora, PhD 
Bordetella pathogenesis
Deora Laboratory  

Jason Grayson, PhD 
T cell Apoptosis and Immune Memory
Grayson Laboratory

Karen M. Haas, PhD
Regulation of B Cell Responses to Carbohydrate Antigens
Haas Laboratory  

Steven B. Mizel, PhD 
Pro-inflammatory and Adjuvant Properties of Flagellin
Mizel Laboratory

David A. Ornelles, PhD 
Molecular and Cellular Biology of Adenovirus
Ornelles Laboratory

Bing Pang, PhD
Pang Research Interests

W. Edward Swords, PhD 
Opportunistic airway infections
 Swords Laboratory

Marlena Westcott, PhD
Interactions between dendritic cells and viral and bacterial pathogens
Westcott Research Interests

Secondary and Adjunct Faculty 

Al Claiborne, PhD
Structural and mechanistic studies of unique flavoproteins involved in streptococcal oxygen metabolism; catalytic functions of the flavin coenzymes.
Claiborne Laboratory

Waldemar Debinski, MD, PhD
Brain Tumor Therapy
Debinski Laboratory

Purnima Dubey, PhD 
Anti-tumor Immunity
Dubey Laboratory 

Charles E. McCall, MD
The Molecular Basis of Acute Inflammation

Griffith D. Parks, PhD (Adjunct)
Molecular Biology of Paramyxoviruses
Parks Laboratory

Sean D. Reid, PhD  (Adjunct)
Streptococcal pathogenesis
Reid Laboratory  


Emeritus Faculty 

Steve Richardson, PhD

Quick Reference

Telephone 336-716-6142

Microbiology & Immunology
Wake Forest School of Medicine
Medical Center Boulevard
Winston-Salem, NC 27157
Find A Doctor Ways to Give
Last Updated: 03-18-2015
USNWR 2013-2014Magnet Hospital RecognitionConsumer Choice2014 Best DoctorsJoint Commission Report

Disclaimer: The information on this website is for general informational purposes only and SHOULD NOT be relied upon as a substitute for sound professional medical advice, evaluation or care from your physician or other qualified health care provider.