Research Advisory Committee


The committee is advisory to the Dean in developing a global strategic vision for the institutional research enterprise, and in recommending plans for achieving this vision.  The work of the committee is strategic in nature, and does not interfere with the established institutional review and evaluation processes.  The committee recommendations add value to the institutional research mission globally, as well as to the administration, departments, and individual investigators.

Research Advisory Committee (RAC) members should act as liaisons between the RAC and their peers/faculty.  Members should openly share information (unless they are told a particular item is confidential).  They should discuss the issues and challenges that are brought forward to the RAC, and solicit faculty input with the purposeful intention of bringing that input back to the RAC.

Faculty who have input to share with the committee can contact any member of the RAC, or Pattie Smith, at, to provide their comments.  Comments will be shared with the full committee.

2012-2013 Research Advisory Committee 

Voting Members

Cheryl Bushnell, MD, Chair
Terence Stanford, PhD, Co-Chair
Richard Loeser, MD, Past Chair
Bridget Brosnihan, PhD 
Paul Laurienti, PhD, MD 
Youngmei Liu, MHS, PhD, MD 
Todd Lowther, PhD 
Chadwick Miller, MD 
Martha Alexander Miller, PhD 
Michael Nader, PhD 
Michael O'Shea, MPH, MD 
Shay Soker, PhD 
Janet Tooze, PhD 
Mark Wolfson, MA, PhD
Ex-Officio Members without a Vote

Basic Science Dept. Chair Representative - Steven Kridel, PhD 
Clinical Department Chair Representative - Joseph Tobin, MD 

Edward Abraham, MD 
Steven Block, MBBCH 
Dwayne Godwin, PhD 
Bruce King, Reynolda Campus  
Paula Means, MPA 
Kevin High, MD 
Laurie Molloy, MBA 
Tony Perez, JD 
Audrey Stone
Eric Tomlinson, DSc, PhD 
Janice Wagner, DVM, PhD 

Quick Reference

Office of Faculty Affairs & Development


8:00am to 5:00pm

Wake Forest Baptist Health
3rd Floor, Watlington Hall
Medical Center Boulevard
Winston-Salem, NC  27157


Find A Doctor Ways to Give
Last Updated: 07-31-2014
USNWR 2013-2014Magnet Hospital RecognitionConsumer Choice2014 Best DoctorsJoint Commission Report

Disclaimer: The information on this website is for general informational purposes only and SHOULD NOT be relied upon as a substitute for sound professional medical advice, evaluation or care from your physician or other qualified health care provider.