News and Updates

GoodNews 350x200

Wake Forest Internal Medicine Residents have another great year in the 2017 Fellowship Match!   

The Internal Medicine Residency Program is proud of our most recent publications and presentations by residents.

Highlights of our most recent Residency Events are available.

Congratulations to our Program Director, Dr. Hal Atkinson, who is the October Leader of the Month.  Very well deserved recognition!

We are pleased to host Mark C. Wilson, MD, MPH as our 2nd Annual James Peacock Education Visiting Professor.  Dr. Wilson is one of our former Internal Medicine Residency program directors and is now the Associate Dean for Graduate Medical Education and Designated Institutional Officer (DIO) at the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics.  He will be sharing his expertise in evidence-based medicine with us at Departmental Grand Rounds on Sept. 22nd and in multiple workshops on September 22nd and 23rd.  Welcome Dr. Wilson!  .    

Fox 8 News interview at Davidson Hospice with intern Tony Nguyen regarding his Palliative Care rotation experience. 

The Internal Medicine Residency Awards Day was held on May 28, 2016.  Each graduating resident was presented with their certificate and the Award recipients were announced and recognized.  Also honored were outstanding contributions to the program from many faculty and “friends” of the residency program. 

Thanks to all our presenters and judges for making the 10th Annual Internal Medicine Research Day a great success.  And a special thanks to Heather Crocker and Kip Byrum for their hard work organizing the event.  We had over 50 posters on display from our students, residents, and fellows.  Congratulations to all the winners!  

Internal Medicine Residency Program Director, Dr. Hal Atkinson, co-led an interactive session at the American Geriatrics Society Scientific Annual Meeting on May 21, 2016 in Long Beach, CA entitled "Beyond Competency: Medication Management in Care Transitions For Medical Students, Residents, and Other Health Care Practitioners”. 

Congratulations to HO2 resident Patrick Kuhlman for submitting one of the best posters in Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center's First Annual QI Showcase which was held on May 19, 2016.  Patrick's poster presentation entitled "An Innovative Approach to Outpatient Scheduling" was chosen as one of the 6 finalists.    

HO3 resident Jodie Franzil received the American Transplant Congress Travel Award for her collaboration on a case report entitled "Left Ventricular Assist Device Implantation in a Patient with Deep Brain Stimulator".  The ATC Meeting will be held in Boston, MA on June 11-15, 2016.    

HO3 resident Yu Kevin Yuan’s abstract "A Clinical Variable-Based Predictive Model of Delayed Clearance of High Dose Methotrexate (HDMTX) in Patients (pts) With Primary CNS Lymphoma (PCNSL)" was accepted to the 2016 ASCO Annual Meeting at McCormick Place, Chicago, IL on June 3-7, 2016.

Meet our new Tinsley R. Harrison Research Scholars.  Congratulations to Stephen Broughton, Matylda Mazur, Andrew Spangler, and Matthew Wilson on being chosen as a TRH Scholar for 2016-2017.   

HO3 resident Jason Hopper will present his poster entitled "From the Bedside to the C-Suite: Incorporating Quality Improvement into the DNA of your Residents, Program, and Institution" at the upcoming 2016 AAMC Integrating Quality Meeting on June 9-10, 2016 in Chicago. 

NC-ACP Meeting News from Feb. 26-27, 2016 
Check out photos and highlights from the meeting. 
Congratulations goes out to all of our Wake Forest poster presenters at the recent NC ACP Annual Meeting.  They all did a fantastic job representing our program!  The poster session was extremely competitive this year.  Only 72 out of over 140 submissions were accepted for presentation.  A special congratulations goes out to Collin Burke for winning 2nd place out of 44 posters in the Clinical Vignette category for his abstract, “One in the nec is Worth Two in the Brain.”  
Other presenters from our Residency Program are:  Alex Bonnecaze, Jessie Bowers, John Dorsey, Tiffany Earle, Tyson Garfield, Matthew Gorris, Jason Hopper, Patrick Kuhlman, and Erinda Stefi.
ACP Early Career Physician Poster session 1st place award goes to GIM faculty Dr. Ajay Dharod for his poster entitled "Holiday Discharges Are Associated With Higher 30-Day Hospital Readmission Rates On Two Academic General Internal Medicine Services" . 
NC ACP Meeting Program Chair for 2016 was our own Internal Medicine Section Chief, Dr. Kirsten Feiereisel.  Congratulations on an outstanding meeting! 

Quick Reference

Internal Medicine Residency
Betsy Pike
Residency Coordinator

Residency Office

Wake Forest School of Medicine
Medical Center Blvd
Watlington Hall, 3rd Floor
Winston-Salem, NC  27157
Find A Doctor Ways to Give
Last Updated: 01-13-2017
Five Wake Forest Baptist Specialties Earn U.S. News RankingsComprehensive Cancer Centers National Designation is RenewedMagnet Hospital Recognition2015 Best DoctorsJoint Commission Report

Disclaimer: The information on this website is for general informational purposes only and SHOULD NOT be relied upon as a substitute for sound professional medical advice, evaluation or care from your physician or other qualified health care provider.

© Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center, Medical Center Boulevard, Winston-Salem, NC 27157. All Rights Reserved.