Skip Navigation

Awards Day 2017

 2017 Awards Day

The Internal Medicine Residency Awards Day was held on May 25, 2017.  Each graduating resident was presented with their certificate and the Award recipients were announced and recognized.  Also honored were outstanding contributions to the program from many faculty and “friends” of the residency program.


HO I George T Harrell (1944-1952) Award – Joshua Harbaugh

HO 2  Ernest H Yount (1952-1972) Award – Justin Kim

HO 3  Sir William Osler Award – Matthew Gorris

Jessie B and Dean Gray Humanism Award – Hugh Dowlen

Jessie B and Dean Gray Scholars Award – Justin Kim

Upper Level Resident Award – Nihar Mathur

Valk Scholarship Awards – Joshua Harbaugh and Justin Kim

Valk Scholars – Deanna Jones, Patrick Kuhlman, Shayla Nettey, Michael Tucker, Matthew Wilson

Bryant Kendrick Primary Care Award - Shayla Nettey and Michael Tucker

Dewey L. and Cynthia Robertson Junior Resident Award – Tyler McQueen, Bonnie Ann Sarrell

Dewey L. and Cynthia Robertson Senior Resident Award – Cynthia Aguirre Valdivieso

Tinsley R. Harrison Research Scholars

New THR Scholars: Kavya Kannan, Alexander Kovalic, Tripp Mostertz, Anne Wofford

Graduating THR Scholars:  Shane Ahlers, Deanna Jones, Matylda Mazur, Matthew Wilson   

Graduating scholars’ mentors:  Rakhee Vaidya, Gregory Hundley, Elsayed Soliman, Matthew Miles   

Research Day Awards

Gold - Drs. Lai, Guerrero-Wooley, Liou, Saad, Ahlers

Silver- Drs. Kannan, Mullis, Venkatesh, Pennington, Logue

Friends of the Residency Program

Honored for Administrative Excellence – Amelia Wallace

Honored for 27 years of Outstanding Service - Betsy Pike

Faculty Awards

Inpatient Clinical Teaching – Nasir Majeed                      

Outpatient Clinical Teaching – Claudia Campos

Conference/Classroom Teaching –Joel Bruggen

Master Teachers - Drs. Atkinson, Burns, Dharod, Feiereisel, Le, Miles, Peacock, Pirkle, Stacey, Upadhya, Velez

Student-Voted Awards  

Class of 2017

Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award – Bharathi Upadhya

Annual faculty Teaching Award – Leslie Ellis and Brandon Stacey

Annual Resident Teaching Award – Joey Carlin

Clinical Science Teaching Award, Class of 2016 – Jim Peacock

Clinical Science Teaching Award, Class of 2017 – Leslie Ellis

Charles Brian Clark Award – Leslie Ellis

Class of 2018

Annual Faculty “Best Teacher” Awards:  Drs. Leslie Alexander, Ajay Dharod,

James Peacock, Bharathi Upadhya, David Zhao

Annual Resident “Best Teacher” Awards:  Drs. Hugh Dowlen, Matt Gorris,

Nihar Mathur, Shayla Nettey, David Warner

Faculty Promoted to rank of Professor

Drs. Dennis Ang, Hal Atkinson, Joel Bruggen, Christina Furdui, Wendy Moore, Jeff Petty, Kaycee Sink

Congratulations to all our Internal Medicine Residents!
2017 IM Resdients

Quick Reference

Internal Medicine Residency
Heather Yates
Residency Program Administrator

Residency Office

Wake Forest School of Medicine
Medical Center Blvd
Watlington Hall, 3rd Floor
Winston-Salem, NC  27157
Find A Doctor Ways to Give
Last Updated: 07-10-2017
Six Wake Forest Baptist Specialties Earn U.S. News RankingsComprehensive Cancer Centers National Designation is Renewed2017-2018 Best DoctorsNursing Magnet StatusJoint Commission Report

Disclaimer: The information on this website is for general informational purposes only and SHOULD NOT be relied upon as a substitute for sound professional medical advice, evaluation or care from your physician or other qualified health care provider.

© Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center, Medical Center Boulevard, Winston-Salem, NC 27157. All Rights Reserved.