OWIMS Membership


The Office of Women in Medicine and Science (OWIMS) considers the appointment of faculty as Associates in OWIMS as being beneficial to OWIMS itself, the individuals who hold these appointments, their departments, and the Medical School as a whole. These appointments acknowledge the work and investment of the individual toward advancing the mission and goals of the OWIMS in research, leadership and education, both inside and outside of the Institution.


Elizabeth Allen, MD, Pediatrics 

Elizabeth Arnold, PhD, Psychiatry

Susan Appt, DVM, Pathology, Comparative Medicine 

Anthony Atala, MD, Surgery, Urology; Wake Forest Institute for Regenerative Medicine

Laura Bachmann, MD, MPH, Internal Medicine, Infectious Diseases

Gopal Badlani, MD, Surgery, Urology

Ronny Bell, PhD, Public Health Sciences, Epidemiology & Prevention; Maya Angelou Center for Health Equity

Steve Block, MBBCh, Pediatrics; Dean’s Office

Sarah Bodin, MD, Anesthesiology

Gretchen Brenes, PhD, Psychiatry

K. Bridget Brosnihan, PhD, Surgery, Hypertension & Vascular Disease Research Center

Cheryl Bushnell, MD, Neurosurgery

Mary Christiaanse, MD, Pediatrics

Sonia Crandall, PhD, MS, Family & Community Medicine

Laura Coker, PhD, Public Health Sciences, Social Sciences & Health Policy

Suzanne Danhauer, PhD, Public Health Sciences, Social Sciences & Health Policy

Lisa David, MD, Surgery, Plastic & Reconstructive Surgery

Suzanne Edmunds, MD, Anesthesiology

Angela Edwards, MD, Anesthesiology

James Eisenach, MD, Anesthesiology

Cynthia Emory, MD, Surgery, Orthopaedics

Xin Feng, MD, PhD, Surgery, Otolaryngology

Andrea Fernandez, MD, Obstetrics & Gynecology

Carlos Ferrario, MD, Surgery, Hypertension & Vascular Disease Research Center

Karen Gerancher, MD, Obstetrics & Gynecology

Erika Johnston-MacAnnany, MD, Obstetrics & Gynecology

Leslie Kammire, MD, Obstetrics & Gynecology

Mary Ann Knovich, MD, Internal Medicine, Hematology & Oncology

Edward Levine, MD, Surgery, General Surgery

Vera Luther, MD, Internal Medicine, General Internal Medicine

Susan Melin, MD, Internal Medicine, Hematology & Oncology

Judith Messura, DMD, Dentistry

Mark Miller, PhD, Cancer Biology

Carol Milligan, PhD, Neurobiology & Anatomy

Ha Nguyen, PhD, Family & Community Medicine

K. Patrick Ober, MD, Internal Medicine, Endocrinology & Metabolism

Mary Claire O’Brien, MD, Emergency Medicine

Stephen Rapp, PhD, Psychiatry

Jim Rose, PhD, Obstetrics & Gynecology

Maria Sam, MD, Neurology

Peter Santago, PhD, Radiology, Medical Engineering

Carol Shively, PhD, Pathology

Sally Shumaker, PhD, Public Health Sciences, Social Sciences & Health Policy

John Spangler, MD, MPH, Family & Community Medicine

Barry Stein, PhD, Neurobiology & Anatomy

Leah Templeton, MD, Anesthesiology

Joseph Tobin, MD, Anesthesiology

Alan Townsend, PhD, Biochemistry

Kristi Tucker, MD, Neurology

Mara Vitolins, DrPH, MPH, RD, Public Health Sciences, Epidemiology & Prevention

Lisa Washburn, MD, Pediatrics

Gretchen Wells, MD, PhD, Internal Medicine, Cardiology

Aimee Wilkin, MD, MPH, Internal Medicine, Infectious Diseases

Marcia Wofford, MD, Pediatrics

Quick Reference




9 am-4:30 pm
"Like" us on Facebook.
Find A Doctor Ways to Give
Last Updated: 08-15-2014
USNWR 2013-2014Magnet Hospital RecognitionConsumer Choice2014 Best DoctorsJoint Commission Report

Disclaimer: The information on this website is for general informational purposes only and SHOULD NOT be relied upon as a substitute for sound professional medical advice, evaluation or care from your physician or other qualified health care provider.