OWIMS Mentor of the Year Award

The Office of Women in Medicine and Science (OWIMS) established the Mentor of the Year Award in 2006 to recognize an individual for their contribution to the professional development of women junior faculty within the OWIMS Mentoring Program.  This award is offered annually. 

Congratulations to the OWIMS 2015 Mentor of the Year

O'Brien Mary Claire
Mary Claire O'Brien, M.D. 

Associate Professor, Emergency Medicine
Associate Dean, Academic Affairs

 Green Line

The call for nominations is sent out every January to Mentees who have participated in the Program for at least 12 months. Within the nomination form, the Mentee indicates the various roles that their Mentor fulfills, elaborates how their Mentor has gone beyond the expected behaviors and illustrates how the Mentee has benefited from the relationship.

The OWIMS Mentoring Award Subcommittee is comprised of senior faculty from the Leadership Program Committee and the Award winner from the previous year.  The Committee meets to discuss each candidate's submitted information. The information considered includes not only the Mentee's nomination form but also the nominee's CV, years of service as a Mentor within the OWIMS Mentoring Program, the number of mentees they have assisted during that time and any other collected information.

If you have any questions about the process, please contact Natalie Barrett at nbarrett@wakehealth.edu or 713-4230.

Past Recipients

Quick Reference




9 am-4:30 pm
"Like" us on Facebook.
Find A Doctor Ways to Give
Last Updated: 02-26-2016
USNWR 2015-2016Magnet Hospital RecognitionConsumer Choice2015 Best DoctorsJoint Commission Report

Disclaimer: The information on this website is for general informational purposes only and SHOULD NOT be relied upon as a substitute for sound professional medical advice, evaluation or care from your physician or other qualified health care provider.