Division of Surgical Sciences

The history of surgery at The Wake Forest School of Medicine comprises 50 years of excellence in clinical care and education and broad excellence in laboratory and clinical research. In 1989, the Division of Surgical Sciences was formed to unite the multi-disciplinary surgical specialties into one framework committed to the same vision – becoming the preeminent surgical program through patient care, education and research. The Division is headed by J. Wayne Meredith, Director of The Division of Surgical Sciences and the chair of the Department of Surgery.  In the spring of 2010, the division included 143 full-time faculty (117 clinical faculty and 77 basic science).  Vice chair for Business and Finance, Bess Wildman oversees an administrative staff, which supports the Sections departments and divisions.  The Division is comprised of nine surgical departments.           

Quick Reference

Important Numbers

Main 336-716-2011
Patient Info 336-713-0000
Media 336-716-4587
Jobs 336-716-4717

Ways to Give
Last Updated: 07-11-2014
USNWR 2013-2014Magnet Hospital RecognitionConsumer Choice2014 Best DoctorsJoint Commission Report

Disclaimer: The information on this website is for general informational purposes only and SHOULD NOT be relied upon as a substitute for sound professional medical advice, evaluation or care from your physician or other qualified health care provider.