Overview & Program Goals:

The Pathology Department trains one Dermatopathology Fellow each year. Please contact Catherine Klapak (see below) for more information.

Applications for the Wake Forest Baptist Health Dermatopathology Fellowship Program (single position) will be accepted as follows:

2018 - May 1, 2016 through August 31, 2016
2019 - May 1, 2017 through August 31, 2017

Applications and other required material should be addressed to the Dermatopathology Fellowship Coordinator.

Dermatopathology Fellowship Applications* will be accepted from MDs and DOs who will have valid medical licensure in North Carolina by the start of their fellowship year.

*You will need the free Adobe® Reader® to download this document.

Contact Information:

For more information about the Dermatopathology Fellowship, contact the Fellowship Coordinator:

Catherine Klapak
Dermatopathology Fellowship Coordinator
Department of Pathology
Wake Forest School of Medicine
Medical Center Boulevard
Winston-Salem, NC 27157-1072
Tel: 336-713-5933
Fax: 336-716-6359

Program Director:

Dr. Omar Sangüeza
Dermatopathology Fellowship Director
Department of Pathology
Wake Forest School of Medicine
Medical Center Boulevard
Winston-Salem, North Carolina 27157-1072 

Current & Past Fellows

  • Masoud Asgari, MD; 2016-17
  • Kathleen A. Mannava, MD; 2015-16
  • Wael H. Milyani, MD; 2015-16
  • Sara E. West, MD; 2014-15
  • Kyle C. Mills, MD; 2013-14
  • Daniel J. Teague, MD; 2012-13
  • Saba Ali, MD; 2011-12
  • Marina P. Sandoval, MD; 2010-11  
  • Amy C. Parsons, MD; 2009-10  
  • Nicole N. Balmer, MD; 2008-09
  • Sarah N. Walsh, MD; 2007-08

International Dermatopathology Fellows (6-24 months)

  • Nagla Ahmed Al Saidi, MD; Yemen/Saudi Arabia: 2016-17
  • Marissa de Jesus Quintal Ramirez, MD; Mexico: 2016-17
  • Andressa Costa, MD; Brazil: 2015-17
  • Sohaila Joubeh Soltani, MD; Iran/US: 2015-16
  • Constantin El Habr, MD; Lebanon: 2015-16
  • María Belén Goiburú Chenú; MD; Paraguay: 2015-16
  • Analía Guerra Zambra, MD; Uruguay: 2015-16
  • Wael Milyani, MD; Saudi Arabia/US: 2014-15
  • Victor Delgado, MD; Colombia: 2014-15
  • Amany Fathaddin, MBBS; Saudi Arabia: 2014-15
  • Nathalie Lascano Gallegos, MD; Ecuador: 2014-15
  • Julio Diaz-Perez, MD; Colombia: 2014-15
  • Dan Lopez, MD; Mexico: 2013-15
  • Ahmed Al Sayyah, MD; Saudi Arabia: 2013-14
  • Hamza Alshehri, MD; Saudi Arabia: 2013-14 
  • Katherine Baquerizo Nole, MD; Peru: 2013 
  • Parisa Mansoori, MD; Iran: 2012-14
  • Khalid Al Aboud, MD; Saudi Arabia: 2012-13
  • Saleha Al Dawsari, MD; Saudi Arabia: 2012-13
  • Achyut Pokharel, MD; Nepal: 2012-13
  • Mohamad Ali A Briak, MD; Saudi Arabia: 2011-12
  • Edgardo Gomez Torres, MD; Mexico: 2010-11
  • Mohammad Al-Otaibi, MD; Kuwait: 2009-10
  • Luis Cardenas Cardona, MD; Colombia: 2009-10
  • Patricia Alvarez, MD; Peru: 2008
  • Maria Mazzei, MD; Uruguay: 2007-08
  • Jorge Pinilla, MD; Chile: 2007-08

Quick Reference

Dermatopathology Fellowship
Program Contact:
Catherine Klapak

Tel: 336-713-5933
Fax: 336-716-6359

E-mail Catherine Klapak

Pathology Department
Wake Forest School of Medicine
Medical Center Boulevard
Winston-Salem, NC 27157
Find A Doctor Ways to Give
Last Updated: 03-28-2016
USNWR 2015-2016Magnet Hospital RecognitionConsumer Choice2015 Best DoctorsJoint Commission Report

Disclaimer: The information on this website is for general informational purposes only and SHOULD NOT be relied upon as a substitute for sound professional medical advice, evaluation or care from your physician or other qualified health care provider.