WFBMC Emergency Medicine Faculty

Department Leadership 

James Hoekstra, MD

Chairman; VP for Clinical Business Development, Wake Forest Baptist Health

Chad Miller, MD, MS

Executive Vice Chair, EM Administration


Department Faculty 

Will Alley, MD

Advanced Practice Practitioner Education; EM Ultrasound

Roy Alson, MD, PhD

Director, EMS & Disaster Medicine; Medical Director, Forsyth County EMS

Kim Askew, MD

Director, EM Undergraduate Medical Education, WFSOM Core Teaching Faculty

Shad Baab, MD

Pediatric Emergency Medicine 

Howard Blumstein, MD

ED Medical Director - Risk Management & Service Excellence 

William Bozeman, MD

Director, EMS/Prehospital Research 

David Cline, MD

Director, Departmental Research 

Matthew Cline, MD

Clinical Faculty; Assistant ED Medical Director, Davie Medical Center

Michael Fitch, MD, PhD

Director, EM Simulation Program; WFSOM Core Teaching Faculty

John Gaillard, MD

Assistant Professor, Critical Care Medicine

Casey Glass, MD

Assistant Residency Program Director, Information Technology; Assistant EM Ultrasound Director; WFSOM Core Teaching Faculty

Jennifer Hannum, MD

Director, Medical Toxicology; Assistant ED Medical Director 

Nic Hartman, MD

Assistant Residency Program Director, Didactics 

Mark Hess, MD

Senior Faculty 

Brian Hiestand, MD, MPH

Director, ED Clinical Decision & Observation Unit 

Kathleen Hosmer, MD

Assistant Residency Program Director, CME 

Elizabeth Kelly, MD

Clinical Faculty 

Jonathan Kelly, MD

Clinical Outreach Adminstration 

Cedric Lefebvre, MD

Residency Program Director 

Ralph "Monty" Leonard, MD 

Retired Senior Faculty 

Simon Mahler, MD

EM Research 

Henderson McGinnis, MD

Medical Director, AirCare Aeromedical & Critical Care Transport 

David Manthey, MD

Vice Chair of Education, WFSOM Core Teaching Faculty 

Chad McCalla, MD

Pediatric Emergency Medicine 

Michael Mitchell, MD

Assistant Director, Pediatric Emergency Medicine Fellowship 

Milan Nadkarni, MD

Medical Director, Pediatric Emergency Department 

R. Darrell Nelson, MD

Director, EMS Fellowship

Bret Nicks, MD

Associate Dean for Global Health; Chief Medical Officer, Davie Medical Center 

James O'Neill, MD

Director, Pediatric Emergency Medicine Fellowship

Mary Claire O’Brien, MD

Vice Chair of Faculty Development 

Manoj Pariyadath, MD

Director, EM Ultrasound 

Raina Paul, MD

Pediatric Emergency Medicine 

Lane Smith, MD

EM Research 

Mitch Sokolosky, MD

Interim Associate Dean for Graduate Medical Education, WFSOM

David Story, MD

Assistant Professor 

Lisa Evans Taylor, MD

Medical Director, Davidson County EMS 

Tripp Winslow, MD, MPH

NC State EMS Director 

Mary Wittler, MD

Medical Toxicology 

Stacie Zelman, MD

Medical Director, SANE Program 

Quick Reference

Meads Hall, 2nd Floor

Phone 336-716-4629
Fax 336-716-5438

Find A Doctor Ways to Give
Last Updated: 03-11-2014
USNWR 2013-2014Magnet Hospital RecognitionConsumer Choice2014 Best DoctorsJoint Commission Report

Disclaimer: The information on this website is for general informational purposes only and SHOULD NOT be relied upon as a substitute for sound professional medical advice, evaluation or care from your physician or other qualified health care provider.