Skip Navigation

MAA Awards

Nominations for the MAA's annual awards are accepted from MAA members, and recipients are selected by the MAA Board's Awards and Nominations Committee.

Nominations may be made at any time. Individuals may be honored as recipients only once in each award category, and awards are presented to living nominees only.

  • Distinguished Achievement Award
    Honors an alumna/us or house staff alumna/us who has distinguished him/herself in the profession of medicine.
  • Distinguished Service Award
    Honors an alumna/us or non-alumna/us for outstanding contributions to the Medical Center.
  • Distinguished Faculty Award
    Honors a current or former faculty member for outstanding contributions to the Medical Center.

    MAA Award nominations form

2017 Award Recipients

Distinguished Achievement: 

William Cowan, MD '57, FHO ' 62

Louis Weinstein, MD '72

Distinguished Faculty:

John Reed, MD '62

Gary Poehling, MD

Distinguished Service:

Steve Block, MBBCh, FAAP

Complete list of past recipients of the MAA Awards


Quick Reference

Alumni Relations

Locally 336-716-4589
Toll Free 800-899-7128
Fax 336-716-7168

Alumni Relations
Charitable Planning

Alumni Relations
Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center
P.O. Box 571021
Winston-Salem, NC  27157-1021
Find A Doctor Ways to Give
Last Updated: 03-28-2017
Wake Forest Baptist Ranked among Nation’s ‘Best Hospitals’  26 Years in a Row by U.S. News & World ReportComprehensive Cancer Centers National Designation is Renewed2017-2018 Best DoctorsNursing Magnet StatusJoint Commission Report

Disclaimer: The information on this website is for general informational purposes only and SHOULD NOT be relied upon as a substitute for sound professional medical advice, evaluation or care from your physician or other qualified health care provider.

© Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center, Medical Center Boulevard, Winston-Salem, NC 27157. All Rights Reserved.