Skip Navigation

Alumni Events

Thomas Irving 117
Honoring Dr. Thomas Irving (Past Chair 1970-1982)

Alumni Dinner 2015

The Department of Anesthesiology hosted the annual alumni dinner Thursday, September 17, 2015 at Old Town Country Club, Winston-Salem, North Carolina.   

Departmental Chairman, Dr. Scott Segal, provided opening remarks and welcomed everyone to the dinner.   

Executive Vice Chairman, Dr. Roger Royster presented a PowerPoint presentation honoring the “Department’s Past and Current Chairmen.”   

Past Chairman (1998-2008) and Emeritus Faculty, Dr. Raymond Roy concluded the evening with a remembrance of Dr. Thomas H. Irving (Past Chair 1970-1982) explaining the significance of honoring him with an Endowed Professorship. 
alumni banner

ASA 2015

At the National Academy of Medicine (NAM) annual meeting held in Washington, DC on October 19, 2015, NAM announced Dr. James C. Eisenach as a newly elected member of the academy. Elected membership in the National Academy of Medicine is one of the highest honors in the fields of health and medicine and recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions to improving the medical sciences, healthcare, and public health.  

Dr. James Eisenach M.D. - Presented an outstanding Emory A. Rovenstein Lecture to the entire American Society Attendees. This monumental lecture is entitled "Without Science There Is Little Art in Anesthesiology."  > video lecture
Eisenach-ASA2015 Rovenstein lecture

Dr. Medge Owen, Professor of Anesthesiology, received the 2015 Nicholas M. Greene, MD Award at the American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA) Annual Meeting held on October 26, 2015 in San Diego, California. The Nicholas M. Greene award, established by the ASA, is the highest honor for humanitarian service in anesthesiology. Dr. Owen, founder of the non-profit organization Kybele, Inc., is the recipient of this award for her dedication to improving global childbirth safety and neonatal outcomes.

Medge Owen ASA Banner

Our amazing faculty presented their Awake Fiberoptic Intubation Workshop at the 2015 American Society of Anesthesiology, San Deigo, California. From left to right Drs. Traunero (alumni 2011), Strathman (alumna 2012), Courtemanche (alumni 2015), Reynolds(Residency Program Director), Laxton (alumna 2002) and Miller (Inpatient OR, Section Head). 
Awake Intubation - ASA

 Alumni Dinner 2013 - Dr. Roy’s Portrait Unveiled

Our Annual Alumni Reception was a great time to reunite with current and former residents, friends, and colleagues. The event was held this year on August 23, 2013 at The Piedmont Club where all shared in the unveiling of Dr. Raymond Roy’s portrait
Dr. Roy Portrait Unveiling-2013

Quick Reference

Anesthesiology Alumni
Sherri Keith
Alumni Affairs

phone 336-716-4426

Wake Forest School of Medicine
Department of Anesthesiology
100 Medical Center Blvd
Winston-Salem, NC 27157-1009
Find A Doctor Ways to Give


Dr. Thomas H. Irving Endowed Professorship

Dr. Thomas H. Irving Endowed Professorship

In order to achieve the goal of 1 million dollars to fully endow the professorship in Dr. Thomas H. Irving's honor, we currently have two anonymous donors willing to commit a half million based on matching funds. We need endowed positions to recruit and retain outstanding faculty members.

Last Updated: 10-10-2016
Wake Forest Baptist Ranked among Nation’s ‘Best Hospitals’  26 Years in a Row by U.S. News & World ReportComprehensive Cancer Centers National Designation is Renewed2017-2018 Best DoctorsNursing Magnet StatusJoint Commission Report

Disclaimer: The information on this website is for general informational purposes only and SHOULD NOT be relied upon as a substitute for sound professional medical advice, evaluation or care from your physician or other qualified health care provider.

© Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center, Medical Center Boulevard, Winston-Salem, NC 27157. All Rights Reserved.