Skip Navigation

Awards Day 2016

2016 Awards Day Welcome

The Internal Medicine Residency Awards Day was held on May 28, 2016.  Each graduating resident was presented with their certificate and the Award recipients were announced and recognized.  Also honored were outstanding contributions to the program from many faculty and “friends” of the residency program.

Presented May 26, 2016

Housestaff Awards
HO I George T Harrell (1944-1952) Award – Jessica Hollingsworth
HO 2  Ernest H Yount (1952-1972) Award – Matthew Wilson
HO 3  Sir William Osler Award – Sara Atwater                   

Jessie B and Dean Gray Humanism Award – Patrick Kuhlman
Jessie B and Dean Gray Scholars Award – Matthew Wilson
Upper Level Resident Award – Shane Ahlers

Valk Scholars – Leslie Alexander, Jason Hopper, Jason Jones, Katie Price, Kunal Sangal

Bryant Kendrick for Excellence in Primary Care Award- Sarah Pozniak

Dewey L. and Cynthia Robertson Award for Excellence in Geriatrics – Tyson Garfield and Becca Omlor

Tinsley R. Harrison Research Scholars Program
New THR Scholars - Stephen Broughton, Matylda Mazur, Andrew Spangler, Matthew Wilson
Graduating THR Scholars – Shane Ahlers, Kris Hansen, Deanna Jones, Paz Vellanki
Graduating THR Scholars’ Mentors – Rakhee Vaidya, Jimmy Ruiz, Gregory Hundley, Timothy Pardee 

Research Day Awards
Residents: Gold –Ryan Hughes, Patrick Kuhlman, Catherine Price and Silver- Jane Ellison, Erinda Stefi, Jason Jones
Fellows: Gold – M Shaukat, D Sharma, C Loh and Silver - C Loh, Farra Wilson, Syed Ahmed
Students: Gold (Tie)- Jack Wren and Spencer Hawkins

ACM Recognition of Excellence Award – Heather Crocker Yates

Faculty Awards
Inpatient Clinical Teaching –David Zhao                          
Outpatient Clinical Teaching – Claudia Campos
Conference/Classroom Teaching – Joel Bruggen
Master Teachers- Drs. Burns, Upadhya, Campos, Dotson, Pirkle, Miles, Belford, Luther, Bruggen, Peacock

Student-Voted Awards              
AOA – Leslie Alexander and Kunal Sangal
Class of 2016 Teaching Award – James Peacock
Class of 2018 Teaching Award – Leslie Ellis and Ed Haponik
Class of 2016 for Resident Teaching: Patrick Kuhlman, Wes O’Neal, Jen Wellington, Lee Connor, Tim Hwalek, Mike Tucker, Joey Carlin, Tyson Garfield, Leslie Alexander, Matt Wilson
Class of 2017 for teaching and being a role model: Shane Ahlers, Sara Atwater, Joey Carlin, Lee Connor, Matt Gorris, Patrick Kuhlman, Nihar Mathur, Kunal Sangal, Richard Taylor, David Warner
Faculty – James Peacock, Joey Cristiano, Bharathi Upadhya, Timothy Pardee, Mark Corbett

Faculty Recognition
Promoted to Professor – Drs. Richard Bloomfeld, Sanjay Gandhi, Susan Melin, David Miller, Carolyn Pedley

Congratulations to all our Internal Medicine Residents!
2015-2016 residents

Quick Reference

Internal Medicine Residency
Heather Yates
Residency Program Administrator

Residency Office

Wake Forest School of Medicine
Medical Center Blvd
Watlington Hall, 3rd Floor
Winston-Salem, NC  27157
Find A Doctor Ways to Give
Last Updated: 07-07-2017
Wake Forest Baptist Ranked among Nation’s ‘Best Hospitals’  25 Years in a Row by U.S. News & World ReportComprehensive Cancer Centers National Designation is Renewed2017-2018 Best DoctorsNursing Magnet StatusJoint Commission Report

Disclaimer: The information on this website is for general informational purposes only and SHOULD NOT be relied upon as a substitute for sound professional medical advice, evaluation or care from your physician or other qualified health care provider.

© Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center, Medical Center Boulevard, Winston-Salem, NC 27157. All Rights Reserved.